RSS

M&M Blast

04 Feb

Tonight i went back to symphony, and it was amazing. I hadn’t realized how much that i missed it. Missed everybody. We had sectionals tonight and, the three violas were with all the violins, and Maestro Bailey. It was fun and i learned a lot. Like for example what a false harmonic is. And then i sat there and looked at music we were playing this concert and realized something.

When i was in sixth grade our orchestra class took a trip to the annual Music Is… concert. The symphony played Lord of the Rings, and Harry Potter, and a few others. That concert is what made me fall in love with music. That’s what did it for me. It started my passion for music.

We’re playing those songs this concert.

Lord of the Rings, and Harry Potter.

I’ve come that far.

I went from admiring the symphony from afar to being an important member of it.

I went from watching these songs in amazement to playing my own part in them.

Wow.

That just amazes me.

Five years ago i could only wish that this would happen. Could only dream.

And it’s happened.

I’m playing almost the same concert that made me fall in love with music.

I love it.

I love music.

Five years ago i wouldn’t believe this.

And then i think. If they wouldn’t of played these songs that day, i wouldn’t be as far as i am today. I wouldn’t of fallen in love with music.

But they did.

And i did.

So all i have to say is.

I love this.

I love music.

I love the way it makes me feel inside when i play it.

I love how the pressure melts away once you start playing on stage.

I love knowing that there’s hundreds of people watching me.

I love the way my viola fits with my body so naturally.

I love how no matter what, music will always be there for me.

I love looking back and seeing how far i’ve come.

I love the feeling of a horsehair bow being pulled across zyex strings.

I love the way it feels to play in such a large group.

I love symphony.

I love performing.

I love music.

I love life.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 4, 2010 in Not Sure

 

4 responses to “M&M Blast

  1. Ylime

    February 9, 2010 at 8:40 am

    Is zyex a brand of strings?

     
    • jojolindsey

      February 9, 2010 at 5:00 pm

      Yeah. That’s what brand of strings are on my viola. They’re synthetic and are supposed to stay in tune really well.

       
  2. Ylime

    March 2, 2010 at 8:07 am

    So is that working out for you? Are they staying in tune and stuff? I don’t know what brand of strings I have on my viola, but I know they’re cloth strings.

     
    • jojolindsey

      March 2, 2010 at 11:24 am

      Yes they are working pretty well. It’s staying in tune, and they sound nice.

       

Leave a Reply

 
